Review: Morning Musume — この地球の平和を本気で願ってるんだよ!/ 彼と一緒にお店がしたい! (Kono Chikyuu no Heiwa wo Honki de Negatterun da yo! / Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai!)

Geez, the titles of these songs are longer than some ALI PROJECT album songs.
It is here! Takahashi Ai’s last single before graduating from MoMusu and Hello!Project. So sad! What will Morning Musume be without Ai? After ten years, Ai has been essential to the group since she joinedi n 2001. Wow, ten years. I really wish I had ban a MoMusu fan back in the day, but I actually had only started following them in 2009. Ai is the only leader I’ve ever known. Certainly going to be different…I hope. “Kare to Isshou ni…” may indicate what the group will be like come the end of the autumn tour. I like the line distribution and focus on Sayumi–who never gets anything that isn’t wailing–but somehow I doubt that this is going to be MoMusu for the next while. It’s unfortunate but I expect all the attention Ai got to simply be distributed over to Reina. Instead of Morning Musume feat. Ai and Reina, we’ll have Reina feat. Morning Musume. Oh well. Riho seems to be in though, lots of lines with these two songs and their last single. I really do want to hear more from the other members of gen. nine, though; but even more than them I want more Risa! But then we need Eri back. Urgh. That last graduation really cut out some of the group’s talent: we lost Eri, LinLin–she seriously needed more lines–and JunJun, who had an interesting voice. Anyway, I’m rambling. Onto the review of Morning Musume’s 47th single: 「この地球の平和を本気で願ってるんだよ!/ 彼と一緒にお店がしたい! (Kono Chikyuu no Heiwa wo Honki de Negatterun da yo! / Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai!)」
Side note: Can you find Tsunku in the cover? Why the heck did he put himself there?!

この地球の平和を本気で願ってるんだよ!
(Kono Chikyuu no Heiwa wo Honki de Negatterun da yo!)
At first I was sort of disappointed in this song, it feeling a bit lacking. But after a few more listens and a few more watches of the music video, I began to really see this song as shining. I like hearing Riho, and I’m not bothered by the heavy Ai/Reina because it is Ai’s last single. I like how much the chorus picks up and its so catchy. It hasn’t left my head since I first heard it. Heh heh. It’s musically unique compared to other singles released during Ai’s leadership, which is a plus, and it really does give off this new MoMusu vibe. It fits the youth that the ninth generation brought with them. Overall the song is a really enjoyable listen. There’s just one thing that bothered me. Does anyone else notice how the beginning of the bridge has the exact same beat that plays throughout Berryz Koubou’s “Aa, Yo ga Akeru”? Seriously reused. The ending of this song leads right into the next! I love when songs do that! I wish someone would release an album that did that for all of its songs. That would be cool.

彼と一緒にお店がしたい! (Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai!)
Okay the PV is seriously reminiscent of “3, 2, 1 BREAKIN’ OUT!” I love it! I really like the transition from the last song’s PV to this one’s. The song is fun, catchy, and the Sayu focus is actually really great. She’s gotten so, so much better and it really shows. Great job Sayumi! I actually enjoy her in this song very much. I feel like I want more Aika in this song though. She gets one solo line, but I wouldn’t have minded Sayu/Aika leads. Riho sounds great in this too, but, really, she has since her debut. In my opinion this is the better of the two songs mostly because of line distribution and a new lead! Woo! Fun song!

自信持って 夢を持って 飛び立つから (Jishin Motte Yume o Motte Tobitatsu kara)
Ai’s single that appears on the Graduation Commemoration Edition. Not much really going on in the song but Ai sounds wonderful as usual. I like this more than her last solo song on 「Fantasy! 拾壱 (Fantasy! Juuichi)」 , which was a lot slower. The choruses are nice and a decent pick up from the versus. The song overall is lesser than the last two, but it’s still a good song. Honestly though, I wanted Ai’s solo song to be a ballad, something to really show of the power of her voice. A bit disappointing in that regard, but this works too. Ai’s last goodbye. it sure will be different. Hmm.

This entry was posted in Morning Musume, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

